While on Rapa—what should I measure?

Whenever my rapa gets here from India I plan to start taking it. But before I do, I’d like to get a baseline set of measurements. I have regular comprehensive blood work (CBC, chem and hormonal). But honestly, I’m not sure anything in those panels would change regardless of the effect of the rapamycin. Not least of all because I have no blood results that are less than excellent, my blood pressure is low, my weight is fine.

The things that I am hoping to improve are not measured that way. For example, I’d like to improve my learning and retention, recovery from injury, and neurological resilience (I’ve been recovering from Bell’s Palsy—unsuccessfully—for 8 months.)

What are the key items worth tracking to determine if there is any measurable effect once I begin the regiment? Here’s what I plan but it is entirely arbitrary and I am interested in suggestions.

• Lean muscle mass/ fat percentage
  • Strength
  • Hormone changes
    I’ll be watching other things—but they aren’t easily measured. For example,
  • Changes in memory, learning, etc.
  • Reduced pain in my shoulder and hands
  • Additional dexterity when playing the violin
  • Acceleration of neuroregeneration from the Bell’s Palsy.

What am I missing? One caveat: I am ONLY interested in tracking to determine any Rapamycin effect. I have no interest in quantifying every dimension of my body or life. Just thinking about that bores me.

1 Like

Pretty good list… hopeful the palsy is improved… neurological dysphagia a problem I had for years vanished after 6 months… 2 years…going now… choking… swallowing issues free.

Maybe watch for changes in joints reducing…becoming looser… and less or no pain.

With inflammation reduced… so are the little beginnings of arthritis. Lower back pain. Stiffness in hands, fingers and toes.

Definitely keep me in the loop on the neurological improvements.