Rapamycin use when sick with infection

Do you continue taking rapamycin when you have a bacterial and/or viral infection? I have been using 6mg once a week for 4 months and now have bad upper resp infection and worry about rapamycin suppressing my immune system. Thank you in advance.

2 Likes

Good question. I would also be interested in the replies. Fortunately (touch wood) I haven’t yet had any infection whilst taking rapamycin - but I’m sure this issue will arise at some point for me too.

When I developed lung bacterial infection a few years ago, my pulmonologist advised that I stop rapamycin. I did for the whole 4 months, my infection cleared without any antibiotics.

5 Likes

What did your personal physician recommend?

This is the first time I’ve had this issue, so I’m trying to figure out what to do.

1 Like

Thanks. Again good to hear you didn’t need to take antibiotics. I experienced nerve damage from Cipro.

Hi Karl, My PCP said he has no experience with the use of one a week rapa dosing for treatment of aging. I suspect very few MDs currently do. I see your an MD, so I’d be interested if that has been your experience as well. I reached out to Dr. Green about this topic, but never heard back from him.

1 Like

I actually was thinking about starting a thread about Rapa and PCP’s. Very few physicians are going to know anything about Rapa, especially the way we take it. Unlike others here, I don’t think physicians should know much about Rapa. This is still an unusual, unproven, unapproved use of a medication with potentially serious side effects.
But don’t assume that the people posting here are experts either. A bit of Dunning Kruger effect on the internet. Take it all in and determine what is your best bet.
A little searching and you can find a telemedicine option for advice I think.

7 Likes