Rapamycin Cycling (Time Off) - Who Is Right?

I’m new to Rapamycin. I started with 1mg and built by 1mg a week, now on 10mg and that’s my ceiling. No side effects, no noticeable benefits.

I am confused as whether a break is needed. In the last two weeks I’ve heard authors in the field say 5 weeks on and 8 weeks off; and the 8 weeks on and find weeks off. Others seem to propose taking it without a break.

Can anyone shed some light on this? Why a break at all, and if there is a break, who does one know the appropriate break period?

5 Likes

there is no answer to that question. all u are going to get is opinions and no proof of anything.

4 Likes

Breaks are recommended so that you don’t inhibit your MTORC2. This can happen if your Rapa levels are too high for too long. Hence the breaks.

5 Likes

dan_hayes is leaning hard into cynicism here, but his response does highlight the challenges of dosing rapamycin for longevity. We do not have gold-standard RCTs comparing different dosing schedules of rapamycin, initiated at different ages, and tracked across the duration of every participant’s lives. Nor do we have shorter-term human studies comparing dosing schedules with a more tractable longevity-based readout (e.g. epigenetic age, burden of senescent cells, etc).

Does that mean all we have are “opinions and no proof of anything”? Nah. We can do better than that. Just because we don’t have the best evidence doesn’t mean we have no evidence. In fact, we have quite a lot of evidence: a PubMed search for “rapamycin” returns about 53,900 published papers—including 3,295 clinical trials and 1,991 randomized control trials.

The central challenge is that we have to repurpose the data in these studies, as they generally investigate rapamycin in the context of organ transplants or cancer. Still—the data are there for those willing and able to triangulate it.