Lab Test Report - Zydus Tablets

I recently completed a lab test on 3 Zydus tablets - all three from the same foil packet. Tablets were purchased from one of the recommended Indian pharmacies here. The average Sirolimus concentration was 0.94 per tablet. The test was about $240 USD.

I’m not an expert on mass spectrometry, so I invite others to review and help understand the analysis.

Chemical Properties:
Chemical Name: Sirolimus
Chemical Formula: C51H79NO13
m/z theoretical: 912.5470
m/z observed: 912.5491
ppm error: 2.3

Expected Concentration
1mg/tablet
Results:
Replicate A: 0.97
Replicate B: 0.95
Replicate C: 0.89
Average: 0.94
Standard Deviation: 0.04

2024_01_18_Sirolimus_Report.pdf (416.4 KB)

3 Likes

Thanks! That’s good to know. Previous tests showed Zydus was around 1.1. So it seems Zydus is ± 10%. For the price, that is acceptable.

1 Like

Do they look like the pharmaceutical brand?
Number 21 one side …blank on the opposite?

They are white. Here are some photos.

3 Likes

It seems the overseas / Indian version are different than the US version. The ones I’ve purchased from India all look like the ones above, with 351 printed on them.

2 Likes

Admin, do you know how to interpret the mass spectrometry reading and the other bumps occurring in the sample?

No, I’m more of a business/tech guy, no Mass Spec experience. But - you may be able to understand it better by reading the discussion on the Rapamycin Powder MassSpec analysis done earlier - see here: Sirolimus Powder - 3rd party analysis

Generally I think you want a single strong peak (or dual, if comparing to a “reference” sample of sirolimus (that you have gotten from a “known-good” source (e.g. Sigma Aldrich).

2 Likes

I got a bit more detail from the lab. This gives me some confidence in these tablets.