Ordering All meds from India

Has anyone else all but given up on getting meds from a local pharmacy? The following scenario happens to us all the time: I contact the pharmacy to refill a prescription, but I am out of refills and the pharmacy needs to contact the Dr. Then I wait a few days to a week. Today it happened with both my wife’s blood pressure med and my statin. Normally no big deal, but we are traveling tomorrow and therefore my wife will run out of her bp med during the trip.

I got on the phone with Welcome over in India and ordered 200 of each medication to keep in reserve.
I am inclined to just avoid using my health insurance in the future to avoid all the hassles. I will find a cash only primary care physician, and buy all my meds from India. I will keep the blue cross for emergencies.

9 Likes

I’ve been ordering nearly everything I take online for the last 8-9 years as well as many of my labs. I still see my doctor and get his diagnosis and prescription but if it’s not an acute need that I have to have filled right away I order it and wait the typical 10-14 days. I mainly started doing that because our insurance became a catastrophic plan so it is usually cheaper than going through insurance.

4 Likes

It’s not possible to get all prescriptions from India, correct? Something like Adderall I would think isn’t possible.

1 Like

@Phil_Van_Treuren, it’s my understanding that it’s illegal in the US to import controlled substances.

4 Likes

FWIW

Yes it is.

It will be very expen$ive in legal cost.

Package delivery will be facilitated personally by DEA.

Example

If you attempt to enter with / purchase coco tea{mata de cocoa as it is called in SA, which is legal in most if not all SA countries, a commercially sold product) this is a Schedule II narcotic in the US. People get arrested any time they are found such as carring in luggage or shipped.

3 Likes