Optimal Glucose levels?

I have been tracking my glucose using a CGM on and off for about 2 years. I have also been testing Acarbose in conjunction with Rapamycin to see the effects. I eat a very high plant rich diet so my glucose levels are generally quite good. And I have seen comments on this site about results from Canafliflozin and SGLT2 inhibitors – and listening to Peter Attia on this topic. In general I’m hearing that we want to keep all glucose spikes to under 130 or 140 and work towards an average blood glucose of under 100 and a Standard Deviation of 15 max. I guess my question is if we feel like these are good optimal numbers? Secondly, if we can keep the average under 100 without medication then there’s probably not a need for medication? Or do we feel that it’s just lower is better - period. Should we be shooting for >90 on average using the medications? Do we have any data on what is optimal from research ?

2 Likes

Good questions. 15 years ago my FG was 75. Now it’s 92-99. I assume that 75 is better than 99. That’s why I started Metformin.

I think we probably want to target a fasting glucose level of around 80, based on this information:

and here the typical blood glucose levels that map to higher risk of dying:

fastingGlucose

Source Documents:

https://www.nature.com/articles/s41598-017-08498-6

2 Likes

Unless I am reading the charts wrong, people over 44 yrs old in this forum are overly concerned with their fasting glucose levels.
The hazard ratios for glucose levels between 90 and 110 are pretty small for that age group.

I quit worrying about fasting glucose levels years ago when I was on a keto diet. Now I rely on my HbA1c results.

3 Likes