GERD, PPI use and longevity

I suffer GERD a few years now and the doctor told me I need to use PPI. There are about 400 million people worldwide who suffer the GERD. I think 15% (or more) of the population need daily treatment with PPI. Its inflammatory disease. It’s a big issue in a modern world.

The question is how to combine PPI and longevity? And how to reduce the consequences of PPI use. Do we have any PubMed data?

I was thinking that I can use Astaxantin (40 mg), cycling PPI use and Rapamycin.

You replied to me earlier. When I studied medicine I was taught gerd was caused by an insufficient sphincter, something you were born with and impossible to fix. I suffered from it for years waking up at night in agony needing to take antacids to continue to sleep until they wore off and I needed more. Because I ingested so much baking soda I was worried about alkalizing my urine too much and getting kidney stones so I started high dose vitamin C. Oddly enough this helped the Gerd. Eventually I wanted to try carnivore for body composition but that firsf night of carnivore was the first night I slept without waking up from gerd. About the vitamin C turns out vitamin C is a cofactor for the enzym that breaks down histamine and what is another class of antacids: selective histamine-2 receptor antagonists

1 Like

Yes, I read, I’m aware of danger use of PPI? What should I do? The diet do not help. In the past 4 years I tried many different methods. In my mind

Very good find. Do you think sodium C would be better than ascorbic acid? Besides H2 blocker are much more safer than PPI. Cimetidine (H2 Blocker) has been shown to have anticancer effects. It has a beneficial side effect of boosting immune function by activating natural killer cells and reducing T-suppressor cells.6 This helps the immune system function more efficiently. Bill Faloon use Cimetidine 3 months every year.

I tried cimetidine but gives me depressive mood. The only hope is now Famotidine.