6 weeks in with 5mg weekly dose through GetHealthspan

Newbie here, just wanted to share my impressions so far. Having been aware of rapamycin for quite some time I finally pulled the trigger a couple months ago. I’m 49. Using GetHealthspan seemed to be the easiest, most straight-forward option available to me. It seems clear, given the low cost of the Dr Reddy’s brand they prescribe, that the larger portion of the expense is probably more related to the lab tests which come with the program. I suppose I would be happier to be taking Rapamune through Pfizer, but I’m not expert enough to make a truly informed judgement on the relative merits, though it doesn’t take but 5 seconds to find Dr Reddy’s has had issues with the FDA in the past. Not sure why all the prescribers doing this out there don’t use Pfizer, can only speculate the cost is higher.

But GetHealthspan has been a good experience so far, they are very communicative. I get my first lab test tomorrow.

To date, I’ve been taking 5mg once a week for 6 weeks now. I can’t say I noticed anything in the beginning (I’ve had no negative side effects whatsoever). Also, I’m not taking any other longevity supplements, just your typical vitamins and creatine (I’m vegetarian). I do work out religiously, but I never weigh myself, don’t like to, though I probably should have in this case for scientific purposes.

A few days ago, though, I had to buy new pants because I went down one size. I had been losing weight before, but I want to say this has accelerated in the last few weeks and also that my appetite has decreased. If this can be attributed to the rapamycin, I can’t say, but it feels that way. I suppose at my age, this might be the only effect I notice, though of course there would likely be other things going on at the cellular level that are helpful and are maybe too subtle to become noticeable.

So, I’m curious, does anything I’ve said here sound familiar to other newbies?

4 Likes

Hi and welcome to the site!