Transdermal rapamycin

I am just getting started with rapamycin although I have had some compounded 6 mg rapamycin pills for six months meant for twice per month senolytic treatment. I never noticed any effect until I took 2x6 mg on alternate weekends and my osteoarthritis seemed to improve for about two weeks. I of course ran out of rapamycin so looked for a new source…

My son found me a supply of 0.001% transdermal rapamycin so I tried right after Christmas using by 5g of cream or 5 mg effective as my first dosage. I had also drank too much egg nogg the night before so when my weight and blood sugar shot up (8 lbs. and +30 mg/dL, respectively) I thought it was the egg nogg. But my blood sugar kept coming back for the next week at ~110 mg/dL which is normally around 80-85. My BS eventually came down so I smeared 3 grams on my skin for a 3 mg dose. The next day my blood sugar was at 117!!! Then like a good scientist I did my homework after the fact:-) First, my 12 mg of compounded Rap was likely around 0.4 mg absorbed after taking into account 14-18% bioavailability of the Sirolimus acid stabilized pills and an additional 75% loss from stomach acid attack on the unprotected compounded rapamycin. if I assume 100% bioavailability of the transdermal rapamycin then my first dosage of 5 mg would have been like me taking 111 mg of my compounded rapamycin or 28 mg of Sirolimus! 111 mg = 5mg/(.25*.18). Mice fed this much rapamycin also spiked their blood sugar due to increased glyconeogenesis according to the study.

The only thing I have noticed is that my energy levels went from high to super high and my mind seemed tuned up. I’m 59 years old and never nap unless sick and don’t feel tired even at bed time although I sleep well. I burn off about 1500 calories per day in exercise so for me to see an energy gain was surprising.

Any thoughts?

2 Likes