Rapamycin and sleep

Just curious, those of you taking rapamycin, have you noticed any impact on sleep?
I am a PhD student doing research on sleep and I am curious about rapamycin’s impact on sleep and maybe sleep disorders. I am thinking about doing this as a potential project in the future, but figured I would ask the people on the forum about their experiences.

Health Effects of Long-Term Rapamycin Treatment: The Impact on Mouse Health of Enteric Rapamycin Treatment from Four Months of Age throughout Life - PMC).

2 Likes

I have suffered with insomnia for over 20 years. At points it has been so bad that I was near suicidal. For the last 15 months I’ve been taking very low dose (7.5mg) Mirtazapine and sleep fairly consistently.

Rapamycin has a short term stimulant effect for me and I’m fairly confident now that it’s not placebo. I actually don’t need a coffee on ‘dosage days’. As advised on this forum, I take the Rapa in the morning and have seen no impact on sleep duration or architecture (measured via Oura).

1 Like

I had moved my dosing protocol from once a week to twice a month and would take 20 mg Rapa twice a month. The high spike in this dose kept me awake for 1-2 days after taking, but went away after that until next dose. I have decided to switch back to 10 mg once weekly and no problems.

3 Likes

Yes, it negatively affects my sleep. I only get 5 - 6 hrs of sleep after a Rapamycin dose of 10 mg or more. Its effects seem to taper off in about a week and then I get back to my more normal 6-1/2 to 7-1/2 hours of sleep. I must say I don’t feel any adverse effects of the shorter sleep period.

1 Like

I would assume this may be one of the reasons why rapamycin is causing these effects

2 Likes

I have found that rapamycin negatively impacts my sleep if I take it in the afternoon / evening, but more broadly while I’ve been taking it in the morning, I think it improves my sleep quality. But - I don’t have the data to back this up.

1 Like