Rapa use and Exposure to Crowds

Hello, Community! I’m wondering whether any of you are timing your rapa dosing in relationship to things like crowded seasonal travel conditions, holiday parties, sick household members, etc.–not just now, as we head into the holiday season, but in general.

I currently dose once per week (5mg), and I’m thinking about whether I should time my dosing schedule against upcoming moments when I know I’m going to be exposed to characteristically “germy” situations. I actually travel for a living quite a bit, so regardless of your answers, it might be difficult for me to practice “timed germ avoidance” (haha–catchy name) year 'round.

I guess the question is this: just how compromised is our immune system directly after we’ve dosed, and should we give ourselves a little break from exposure for a couple days, if convenient–or possible? Thanks so much for your thoughts on this topic.

2 Likes

Have you found any new susceptibility to mouth sores? I don’t think that effect is universal.

For what it’s worth, mTOR inhibition enhanced the effectiveness of vaccines in elderly. mTOR inhibition improves immune function in the elderly - PubMed

Edit:
I think there was a study using specifically using rapamycin, let me check.

Hi! So far, I haven’t experienced any canker sores, although I see that many people report such a reaction. I just took my second dose of 5mg today (I’ve been working my way up to this dose, starting at 1mg/week), and so far, so good. Thanks for asking!

3 Likes

Nope and all the evidence points to rapamycin enhancing immune function not weakening it

I agree. My opinion is that weekly dosing doesn’t acutely suppress the immune system at all. I’ve experienced much less illness over the last 18 months (on Sirolimus) than my wife/kids.

1 Like