Molecular Weight and Hair Growth

I saw the study about hair regrowth from a topical rapamycin shampoo, but I’m a bit skeptical of these findings.

The molecular weight of rapamycin is 914. At that weight, none of it will be absorbed topically. The hair follicles are 4-7mm below the scalp. If the rapamycin is not small enough to be absorbed, what is the hypothesis for how it can work on the follicle?

This same thing is an issue for topical dutasteride which has a molecular weight of 528, though it is suspected that some of it would be absorbed at that weight.

I’d love to hear from any doctors who have a perspective on how a topical rapamycin could work on hair.

2 Likes

I am not a medical professional but if you microneedle these in, there will be some penetration. I couldn’t say how much, but if you use 0.1-0.2 mm depth needle, you can do it daily. 0.5 mm, weekly, and 1 mm or deeper, monthly. I have a derminator but you can get a cheaper Dr. Pen.

1 Like

Does DMSO not affect absorbance?

1 Like

It does, by disrupting the skin lipid bilayer (ethanol, isopropanol, and surfactants do this, too), but I am not sure what the molecular weight limits might be for the compounds one wishes to push through. Edited to add, one could do both. If going deep with the microneedling, I’ll suggest stamping with it rather than rolling it because rolling can leave track marks.

2 Likes

Thanks, all.

I think what you are saying confirms my suspicion. Rapamycin is too large to be absorbed and get to the hair follicle, so it is unlikely to be helpful for hair regrowth topically. One could try microneedling to help absorption.

1 Like

I can’t say if it works for hair loss since that isn’t my issue. But it definitely improves the skin. Mine is radiant. I can’t stop looking at my skin!

I use a topical (91% isopropanol as the solvent) AM under sunscreen and PM under my tretinoin or tazarotene. I’ve also dermastamped once at 2.5 mm with it. I intend to continue at this depth monthly.