Lot’s of red marks on my Omega 3 & 6 lab test results!

I’ve never done this test before. Not have I ever reviewed results from this sort of test from one of my patients. It’s just not a test you would typically see on a hospital patient. I just got these results. At first I saw all the red marks and thought “oh no, my results are awful!” But after looking closer, I think most of these items marked red are actually pretty good. And, maybe my Omega 3 index marked “high” at 6.1 should be even higher. And, my Omega 6/Omega 3 ratio marked “low” at 3.8 should actually be lower. Which by the way I didn’t understand this number (3.8) at first because it’s not a ratio. But now, I’m pretty sure 3.8 is actually 3.8:1. I think the problem is these are reference ranges might be for the typical American but what we really want to go by would be more like a typical person on a Japanese diet. This lab test was performed by Quest. I looked up LabCorp and they use the same reference ranges. However, I think Life Extension uses the correct references found here https://www.lifeextension.com/-/media/lef/files/pdf/bloodtestsamples/omega_3_index_complete_sample_report.pdf
I’m still uncertain about this. Wondering if I’m looking at
this wrong. Quest and LabCorp are the two largest labs in the country. I can’t believe their reference ranges could be so wrong. What do you think?

3 Likes

I would argue that those red marks are good. It’s just out of the ordinary in a good way.

6 Likes

Do you know if this is from cell membranes and hence “a three month average”

According to Tom Dayspring, Peter Attia and others that really is the test one should use

1 Like

I think so, right? That’s what I have concluded. Now that I have looked closer and read the fine print I see these reference ranges are based on the US population. Seems like “ideal” reference ranges would be best.

2 Likes