Introduction // Ritonavir for rapamycin-boosting

First of all, I would like to introduce myself:
I’ve been following the forum for quite a long time now, generally the discussions here seem good and well thought out, as does the administration.
Time to register and briefly introduce myself. I am an acute care physician (3 board certified in critical care, emergency medicine and general medicine). Perhaps also because of a certain exhaustion in caring for very sick people (who usually have not invested so much in prevention :slight_smile: ) I am interested in the longevity field.
The possible effects of various interventions (drugs such as rapamycin/metformin etc., exercise, CR etc.) are extremely interesting, but of course we have to admit that our knowledge is very limited and, despite all our enthusiasm, we must remain critical. In this respect, I look forward to the discussions here…

Now a first question for the group
Since the cost of sirolimus here in Europe is rather high:
has anyone had experience with ritonavir to boost, i.e. sirolimus peak levels with and without taking ritonavir (Cmax, AUC is then another unknown)?
I have only found this publication
https://bpspubs.onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/10.1002/prp2.1024
, but it assumes a continuous intake of ritonavir, I would have rather thought of a 12h intake before and with sirolimus.
Grapefruit juice is certainly also an option, but its effectiveness may fluctuate depending on the fruit you have just taken, and the effect also seems to be very variable.
Ketoconazole po is no longer approved in Europe.

6 Likes

Ketoconazol is still available here in the Netherlands but I would just get packaged grapefruit juice or if you are a physician just prescribe it yourself. I do and my insurance just reimburses me

1 Like

Oh thank you Arhu!
I didn’t know that. I looked in Switzerland (where I live) and in Germany, I have access there, but couldn’t find it listed in either of these countries.