Does Sirolimus reduce or increase Insulin Levels?

Hi,
I’ve been considering Rapamycin/Sirolimus ever since I heard about its anti-aging properties.
However, access is extremely difficult for me due to living in a Nanny-State (Australia).
I may try getting some from India, but I have a question before I embark on the quest.

Recently a blood test result almost caused my doctor to fall off his chair; my (non-fasting) insulin level was only 2. (And that was about 2 hours after a good breakfast!)

My question is: does anyone know if Sirolimus reduces or increases insulin levels in humans?
Obviously, if it decreases insulin I could be in a bit of trouble!
I’ve tried searching online but I can’t find anything that clearly states it. Any advice would be appreciated.
Cheers,
Tom

1 Like

Ah, living in the US is a pain too - we have different ways of measuring pretty much everything compared to the rest of the world and its a major pain the butt… measuring blood sugar and insulin levels is an example, but kg/lbs, km vs. miles, … its all just a royal pain. I wish the US would just get with the program…

Generally people don’t,I believe, see any change in blood glucose levels in the low-dose rapamycin protocols that we follow, and therefore, I assume also insulin levels.

But I have heard that it can be an issue in long term, high levels of Rapamycin as is used in transplant patients. See this paper: Chronic Rapamycin Treatment Causes Glucose Intolerance and Hyperlipidemia. Some researchers are saying this issue caused by rapamycin isn’t really a problem and goes away if you stop it (I think similar blood sugar / insulin responses can be seen in caloric restriction protocols that are also proven to extend lifespan and mammal health). So… its complex. Here is a related paper by Blagosklonny on this issue: Fasting and rapamycin: diabetes versus benevolent glucose intolerance