Calorie-restricted diet makes me prone to catching colds, experiencing fever, and having a weakened immune system

I’ve been practicing a calorie-restricted diet for the past five months in pursuit of longevity, as it has been proven to be beneficial. However, I’ve noticed that it has weakened my body, leading to frequent colds and a poor mental state. I’ve decided to give it up. Are there any friends in the forum who have had a similar experience?To be honest, I haven’t started using rapamycin yet because I wanted to give calorie restriction a try first. However, I’ve come to the conclusion that it’s time to embark on the rapamycin journey

4 Likes

I’ve tried Caloric Restriction years ago… the issues I experienced was that I was always cold (not sick, just cold, and very little body fat, so always had to wear jackets or sweaters, etc.). Also - libido went down to zero, hungry all the time…

Yes - its very hard to do for a long period of time and it very negatively impacts quality of life.

I’ve not found any of those issues with rapamycin, which I’ve taken for almost 4 years now.

7 Likes

What is your CR?
I have been practicing CR(ON) most pf the time since two years. I was pretty lean and active before COVID but with that my job changed and I mostly sit every day for hours and with less time and access during pandemic to gym I packed few kg of mostly fat tissue. I started body recomposition with 30% CR and daily exercise some two years ago for few months. I was always hungry and felt really restricted so I upped calories to 20% CR and last few months to 10-15%, I still exercise daily. I feel really well on 10-15% CR, I eat enough, my weigh is stable (I did in what bro call a mini bulk for 8 weeks to pack some muscle lately) but other than that I am CR most of the time (there are few exceptions like holidays or when I go out with friends, like once every 3-4 weeks).