Aspirin, NAC — longevity superstars?

@Krister_Kauppi What can you tell us about aspirin and NAC doing so well on your list of longevity interventions?

6 Likes

The list is based on DrugAge database and sorted by maximum lifespan in male mice. I have no deep knowledge about these two compounds but it is a very interesting top list. Is it some weird studies which make the numbers show so much better results than Rapamycin on Aspirin and NAC? I know ITP has tested aspirin without and small lifespan effects but it may be because the dose is not right or something else. Highest effect was in male mice (median lifespan 8% and max lifespan 4%). Can someone give some light to the topic?

PS. Here is the source for the tweet

3 Likes

Findings (in healthy older humans who take low dose aspirin):

The principal results of ASPREE were published in the New England Journal of Medicine in 2018. These provided the first high quality findings on the value of low-dose aspirin for primary prevention in healthy older adults, mostly aged 70 and over.

• Aspirin did not prolong healthy life span free of disability and persistent physical disability (McNeil et al. 2018).
  • Mortality was slightly higher in the aspirin group than in the placebo group (5.9% aspirin: 5.7% placebo), attributed primarily to cancer-related deaths (McNeil et al. 2018).
  • Aspirin did not significantly reduce the risk of heart disease or stroke.
  • Aspirin significantly increased the risk of bleeding, primarily intracranial and in the GIT (McNeil et al. 2018).

Source: Information for US clinicians - ASPREE USA

3 Likes

Hmmm. Regarding aspirin, should we conclude humans are different from mice? Aspirin is not a good longevity bet?

2 Likes

Very good question! I think we will get better answers when the follow up study “ASPREE-XT” is completed then we will see better if there are any long term effects. But for now from my perspective I would not start taking aspirin if I would be a healthy elderly person.